Learning By Doing

Today I’ve been out driving my car for most of the day. I’m practicing for a driving test that I must do in order to attain a taxi-driver’s license which I dearly want to have. So I am out driving at least every weekend.

Anyway, I wanted to share a cool point that I’ve realized in regards to learning new things, because that is what I am doing as I drive around. I learn new traffic rules, I learn to maneuver the car more smoothly, I learn to deal with new and difficult traffic situations with ease and confidence, and in essence I learn to become a more effective driver.

And what I’ve understood in terms of learning these new things is that it can’t be forced. I can’t force myself to learn new things through thinking about each mistake, or fault that I do. Actually – the more I think the slower I learn, and the more mistakes I make.

It’s fascinating – but the less I think, the more I learn. The less I talk in my head about knowledge and right and wrong, the more confident I become at handling the car. The less time I spend in my head, the more time I spend in the physical, and to drive a car is a physical action, so maybe it isn’t that strange after all, that learning becomes so much more effective when I stop thinking.

It’s interesting that you’re taught in school to learn just the other way around. There you’re shown that thoughts must be used, thinking must be applied, mistakes must be brought up and focused upon, and what is right is important, and what is wrong is important. So instead of physically, and actually learning things, one spend the most time worrying about right and wrong, what is correct and what is a mistake. Because of that learning becomes so slow, and tedious, and boring, as you don’t actually place your time into learning in the physical (where living takes place) but instead into worrying and thinking.

Thus, now when I’m out driving my focus lies upon having fun. I apply the rules that define what correct driving is; yet I’m not hard upon myself if I miss something. I don’t go back to the situation to think about what I made wrong, and what I’ve could’ve done better – I instead focus upon the next moment that is ahead of me and yet again I apply myself. Moving myself forward instead of looking back – not defining myself according to failures but instead proving that I am able to succeed and effectively learn to drive my car.

And when I move in this flow of breath, being present in each moment as it arrives, learning is much more effective, and my driving is much more smooth and confident.

A conclusion would then be that, no matter how beneficial we think it is to spend time in our mind, pondering mistakes of the past, and what we should do correctly and differently in the future, this doesn’t help us to learn how to in-fact live more effectively. Because in order to live you must actually spend time here in the physical and that can’t be done when you’re in your mind thinking about what you did wrong, or correct for that matter.

So, instead of holding unto a mistake, you simply see the mistake, and then move on, better prepared to make it right the next time around, without having to think a single thought.

And so instead of expecting ourselves to become good at something right away, we accumulate ourselves to perfection, slowly but surely, without becoming infested with the self-judgment of right and wrong, as thinking. Moving ourselves forward, letting our mistakes go, yet determined to accumulate ourselves into and as self-perfection, but still having fun at the same time!

Leave a Reply

