Giving Up Your Passion For Money

There are many of us in this world that find ourselves to have a passion for something – a deep liking and fascination – it could be a action, or hobby that we enjoy immensely and for me I’ve found such a passion towards music – towards singing and playing guitar. For me this passion opened up as I first discovered blues and improvisational music – and as I let myself explore the guitar by myself – read books about various techniques and listen to music done by various fascinating artists – such as Jimi Hendrix, Stevie Ray Vaughn, John Lee Hooker etc. – and the more I immersed myself into this world of music the more passionate I became, the more I enjoyed it.

Though – music hasn’t been my only passion in life – I’ve found myself enjoying myself within making films, theater, and acting – as well as writing, painting, building, and so on – I’ve found most types of creative expression to be fulfilling and fun – yet when the time came for me to pick a college orientation I didn’t pick a orientation that had anything to do with creativity or art – I picked a orientation that was directed towards getting to know the functions of society – wherein the primary subjects was history, language, and societal knowledge – nothing of which I was passionate towards at all – the question that begs to be answers is why I made such a choice; the reason is simple – I picked the orientation because I knew it would send me in a direction in society of being able to at a later stage claim a higher education – which would then in turn enable me to generate money – the decision I made was made from a starting point of securing an income for myself.

And so – I compromised my dreams for money – and this point opened up to me as I listened to a Life Review of someone that also compromised his dreams for money; he was born in a elitist family, and brought up and schooled from a young age to take over his families business – while his real interest and passion was art. He grew up fascinated with the great masters of the paintbrush, and he was discovering new techniques, investigating and learning more about the craft – until one day when he was 14 years old – this day his mother and father came into his room and told him that – that was it – from now on he’s to learn how to become a successful business owner and stop his obsession with painting; and they took away all of his art, paintbrushes, frames, art books etc. There was no fighting, he simply gave into the wishes of his parents – as he realized that if he fought he’d probably be disowned and live a life of insecurity wherein he wouldn’t have access to any money, and the surety of being wealthy – and so he compromised his dreams for money.

What I realized as I listened to this review was that we can’t in-fact live our dreams in this system as it currently exist – thus I saw that the solution for me to be able to live out my dreams and passion was not to give up upon my current education – or stand within the system and go and live out my desire to become a musician in the system – no because I saw and realized that the problem wasn’t that I didn’t live out my dreams but the problem was that in this current money system – dreams can’t be lived out at all – in anyway what-so-ever. Even if I’d chosen to walk the path of a musician, I would’ve still been forced to compromise myself and my artistic expression in order to gain sufficient with attention from others in order to make money – and then I still wouldn’t have been able to live out my passion fully.

So, I don’t regret myself for compromising my dreams for money – because money is in-fact essential in this current system, and without it we’re fucked – and because of that everyone’s dreams are compromised, as we’re all in a constant hunt and competition in order to gain sufficient with money to survive. Thus – that I compromised my dreams for money was a common sense decision, wherein I saw that the path of music was financially uncertain, while the path of walking a higher education wasn’t – which is a truth that can’t be denied – yet let’s not forget that this truth is completely fucked up and obviously no one should ever have to compromise their dreams for money – no one.

But in our current system no one can live out their dreams, no one can live their passion – as we’re all slaves to money – we’re all dependent upon money – we’re all caught in the game of money and if we don’t play along we won’t survive this world – as such a new economic system must be established for us to be able to live out what it is that we really find stimulating, interesting, fascinating and enjoyable – a system within which we don’t require to compromise ourselves for money in order to survive, but wherein we’re instead supported to pursue our desires to express ourselves in certain ways, develop our talents and passions, and truly live.

Thus if you recognize yourself in this, as you also saw within yourself as you got to know yourself in this world – that there were certain things you really loved to do – found utterly fascinating and enjoyable – but that you couldn’t pursue due to money – or rather the constant lack of money – then I really recommend that you watch this video – this Life Review – and realize that as long as we’re in a system that doesn’t support us to enjoy ourselves and follow what we’re passionate about – we won’t ever be able to truly experience and give ourselves to that which we love. We need a new system – a Equal Money System – were we’re all equal since birth – no one born in debt – no one born in wealth – but all equal – and where work is done for the pleasure of it and not because of survival – such a world is possible yet we have to create it – don’t wait for it to come, let’s bring it here!

2 thoughts on “Giving Up Your Passion For Money

  1. poppy

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this post. I could not agree more with your views. I too am a musician (somewhat.. I used to be better) and I feel this society needs to change in order for people to be truly free. Millions of people are essentially glorified slaves and some of them claim that they actually love what they do for money. They look at you as if you are a moron who is looking for satisfaction beyond money and materialistic things when you question the function of this society. Probably they are forced to form such an opinion. I have been wondering about this who issue for two years now. Truly, this world would be a different place had man kind not succumbed to desire. I’m glad to have come across your blog.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Viktor Persson Post author

      Cool,

      The brainwashing is really extensive in this world – in-fact so massive that people accept, and even defend their position as slaves in this world without any question. Obviously though there are far more superior ways to live – wherein everyone would actually be able to do what they enjoy to do. Sadly – many in this world doesn’t even know that there exist such a point within self as passion – and movement for no reason but the movement itself – and as such we require to re-educate ourselves and this world with it – and that is what I am doing with this blog – essentially re-educating myself, and also looking at, and exploring the various patterns of living that have been accepted as normal in todays world while they are certainly not.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

