The Freedom of Being Stupid

One thing that I’ve noticed at my university is that most fear not being right, fear not knowing the answer, and fear being seen as “stupid” – and this will have the consequence that most of the pupils will, when the professor ask a question, sit silent and still, in utter prettification that they will be pointed out to answer the question, and when the professor at the end of the lesson ask – is there anyone that doesn’t understand, any questions, anyone? Everyone remain silent.

And so it’s fascinating to see how this fear actually manifest as reality through us attempting to avoid this fear – because look at what happens when we accept and allow yourself to limit ourselves in asking questions when don’t understand, and being honest with ourselves when there is something we simply can’t get our heads around – we become stupid, we don’t know the answers, and we most certainly won’t be right at the next exam!

Thus we manifest our fears of not being right, and not knowing the answer – because never accepted and allowed ourselves to ask, and to admit to ourselves and others that – hey, I really don’t know the answer to this crappy questions.

What I’ve done is that I accept and allow myself to ask when I don’t understand, others find this to be humorous at times and laugh at my questions yet I don’t accept and allow that to limit me, and sometimes I give answers to the questions that the professors ask without being sure that it’s correct, why not? Why care about who thinks’ that I am smart, or stupid? It’s so limiting – apparent “stupid” people have more fun, because they aren’t afraid of being seen as stupid; while supposedly “smart” people have a heck of a job to keep their show going.

I embrace my “stupidity”, and as such I am able to get to clarity on what I don’t know through asking the correct “stupid” questions – which is better than to pretend that I know, when I don’t.

3 thoughts on “The Freedom of Being Stupid

  1. Radina

    I love this post and unfortunately, I can relate to the ones being afraid of looking stupid. It’s one of the most difficult things to overcome… but I’ll get there. Thanks for the post again.
    🙂
    P.S. most of the times it’s due to the fear that you’ll be rejected, while you know inside you’re not stupid, but you acknowledge other people’s tendency to generalize that you’re ‘stupid about everything’ if you don’t know a certain something. While actually you may be a pretty wise person, which is better than being a know-it-all… it’s pity that many people still do that. Overgeneralize about someone’s quality of understanding.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Viktor Persson Post author

      Cool Radina,

      Yes – the point is related to fear of being rejected – and also to the fear of not being seen as a certain personality, and character by others; which is related to the fear of not being loved – which indicate that self hasn’t yet accepted and allowed self to live self-love and self-worth.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Mark

    One person knows everything. Another knows nothing. Who do you suppose stands the best chance of learning or discovery?

    That’s right…the person who knows nothing! Pretending to know is limiting.

    If you think about it, learning to walk is sort of like seeking answers to questions each “failure” providing clues to learn walking. We come into this world ignorant of many things.

    The wise know that they don’t know seeking answers.

    All the very best with your career and all other life endeavors!

    -M.A. Johnson

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

