Day 246: The art of decision making

Oftentimes we hear how it’s good to vent ourselves – that it’s apparently healthy to clear the air, get everything out there, speak it as it is, and show what is really going on. And in theory this might be great, because we can discuss what is really going on – though in practical reality this approach more often than not leads to consequences.

hand-457335_640The real problem is when we start to speak about decisions, and points that we think about, which we ourselves are not yet clear on. For example, we have a reaction towards person X, and this reaction is an irritation, then we go speak to person Y about a decision we’re considering due to this reaction. Problem is that, on top of it being a reaction, we experience a conflict within ourselves towards the decision, because on a deep level we know that the point isn’t clear, it doesn’t come from a point of stability, and common sense reasoning – so we turn to person Y to guide us and prep us emotionally so we feel comfortable making the decision we believe to be right. This, INSTEAD of accepting and allowing ourselves to FIRST look at the point, stabilize, and only THEN go to another to discuss, and cross-reference the facts, which we’ve found.

If we go and speak with person Y, without being clear, a lot of shit can unfold – amongst other things we can influence person Y to in turn make a decision based on our emotionally contaminated information, or we receive advice that isn’t clear, and effective, due to our own uncertainty and biased position, and accordingly we make a decision that supports our emotional experience, instead of making a practical decision that supports who we are as a being, as life. And on top of this we set ourselves up to lose our point of self-honesty, and access to who we are as stability, because instead of clearing the reaction, and finding out what we’d really like to do – the problem is that we try to emulate a sense of direction through utilizing feelings and emotions.

So, what I’ve found in my own process is that I have a tendency to want to cement a particular direction in life through creating within me an a experience of certainty, a feeling of certainty. Hence, when an EXPERIENCE of uncertainty comes up within me, what I’ve done is that I go and talk to someone, to get some form of comforting advice, to through that generate and create the feeling of certainty again. The fascinating point here is that I base my future, my decisions, and my direction on a feeling of certainty or an emotion of uncertainty, instead of seeing the practical pros and cons of my direction. See, basing a decision on what is practical – this doesn’t require any feeling whatsoever, no emotion, no feeling, it’s instead simply seeing the physical, and the potential future playouts, looking at the consequences of these and how they might affect me – and then making a decision on the basis of these.

Thus, the limitation is to want to have a feeling of certainty, because why do we require such a feeling to trust ourselves in relation to the decisions we make for ourselves? Do we have to have a feeling in order to be able to eat? Must we feel a sense of trust that the food we eat is going to nourish and support our physical bodies? No – because in terms of food, we know that it’s a physical act, and that when we eat, regardless of our experience towards the decision to eat, it’s something that’s going to have certain physical effects, and that is why we decide to do it. The same goes for all other decisions, at the end of the day, they are practical, physical decisions, and it doesn’t have to feel right, it just has to be a decision that is practical and effectively aligned – that is all that is required.

What I see for myself, as such, is that I am going to will myself to before I approach another in terms of discussing a decision that I wish to make, to first sit down with myself and walk through the pros and cons – and ONLY look at the practical sides of the decision – because that is really the only thing that matters. What I feel about a decision, that is irrelevant, because it won’t have any form of meaning, and will not change a thing in terms of how I walk about, and create my life in this physical world and reality – and that is the truth.

To summarize this blog, there are two important points to take into account in terms of decisions: 1) Be clear or at least be clear on the points your unclear about when discussing a decision with another 2) Don’t base your decisions on a feeling of right, and don’t accept and allow yourself to be bothered by a feeling that something is wrong with a decision – instead stick to what is practical – because that is trustworthy and dependable.

Self-forgiveness

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be swayed inside of myself in relation to decisions that I make, have made, or wish to make, through basing myself and who I am in relation to these decisions on emotions and feelings of uncertainty and certainty – and within this I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not see, realize and understand that I don’t have to change my direction just because an experience comes up within me of either uncertainty or certainty – because these feelings and emotions are in-fact not relevant – they aren’t in-fact physical assessments of the situation that I am in – it’s only a feeling – and thus I commit myself to base my decision on facts – on the practical pros and cons – and not accept and allow myself to be swayed to change or make a decision on the basis of a experience

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to trust feelings of certainty, and uncertainty, and within this I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to make these experiences the primary force in my decision making processes – where I instead of valuing, and seeing the practical sides of the decision that is before me – look at, and become obsessed with the experience side of the decision that is before me – and as such I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not see, realize and understand to what extent I am in-fact limiting myself when I am holding unto this perspective in life – because instead of supporting myself to stabilize, and work with what is real – I go into a illusion and try to live my life from within and as that very illusion – not realizing that I can’t ever live effectively when my focus is on that which isn’t real, and doesn’t matter anyway

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to evaluate the decisions I have made, and the decisions I plan to make according to how I feel about them, and evaluate how I should move and direct myself in the future according to how I feel about my future – and within this I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not see, realize and understand the simple common sense that – a decision is a practical point – it’s a physical act – and not something that has to do with feelings – and some goes with the future – the future is a practical point – a physical act that will occur – and thus it’s irrelevant how I feel about it – what’s important is the physical, and practical steps – the actuality of what is here – that is the relevant point to look at and thus the relevant point to work with and base my decisions on

Self-commitment statements

When and as I see myself wanting to go talk to someone about a decision that I am not clear on, because I feel certain, or uncertain, and because I wish to strengthen one of these experiences, I stop, I take a breath and I bring myself back here – and I see, realize and understand that I require to slow down, and first of all – look at the point myself – and be clear within myself before I open my mouth and invite others to participate in giving me advice and looking at the decision – and thus I commit myself to look at my decisions rationally – using the pros and cons method – the pros and cons list – and then following through on the assessment that I make in relation to this pros and cons list – and asking for advice in relation to practical points that I am not certain about and that I see I could use support and assistance for me to clarify

When and as I see myself basing my direction, and future in relation to a certain decision, on how I feel about it – as to whether I feel comfortable with it, or uneasy with it, and then start re-thinking my decision, and going over it again, because my feeling about it changed, I immediately stop myself, I take a breath and I bring myself back here – and I see, realize and understand that this way of approach decisions is not supportive, and it’s not effective for me – because what should matter is the physical, what is actually going on in my life, what is actually and in-fact here – not what I feel should or shouldn’t be here – because that is what is relevant – and that is what I should move myself in relation – and through doing that – I will have an effective decision that is aligned with my physical world – and thus I commit myself to look at the physical aspects of my decision and NOT how I feel about it, not what I think about it, rather the physical facts – because that is what will have a direct impact and influence on me and the decision I am making or that I have already made

Leave a Reply

