Day 250: Drive, Passion, and Excitement

Drive, passion and excitement – three words that so many of us look for in life, I myself not excluded, which is why todays writings will be dedicated to this point. To illustrate my issues with these words, lets have a look the popular TV-series: Suits.

In suits, which is about lawyers, everyone is working, basically, all the time – and each and everyone is driven forward by the desire for money, the desire for success, and the desire to win. Looking at this description of the characters lives, it does seem like they have a very bleak and colorless existence, though, in the series, the characters are portrayed as having the time of their life. They are working all the time, and exude such a drive, excitement and passion – it looks like working as a lawyer every second of every day is the best thing that ever happened to them, and what they want to continue to do forever.

So, when I look at suits, I have perceived that this drive, passion and excitement can only be experienced in relation to work, within a specific profession – as such believing that what I do defines who I am – and that if I change what I do then this will change who I am as well. Now, it’s a big mistake to believe this because what happens when we do? Well, we have to start running after, searching for, and try to get to that position and point in our lives where we believe we will feel satisfied, where we believe that we are going to find our purpose, and our passion – which in the worst case scenario might mean that we will search forever, until we die, and still not ever be able to find anything that sparks our interest.

Thus, the solution to this problem is to stop searching, stop trying to find – and instead realize that these words: Passion, Drive, Excitement – they can be lived in our personal lives – I can live them in my daily life as Who I Am – And thus not anymore be dependent upon life-circumstances to be the way I hoped and imagined that they should for me to be able to live.

How am I then able to live PASSION in my daily life?

Passion doesn’t have to be a feeling – instead it can be my focus, my dedication, and my complete commitment to what it is that I am doing in this moment – where I pass-it-on. Here I can thus live passion in my physical reality through really getting my hands dirty, and when I do something, be here fully – really do what I am doing – experience what I am doing, be intimate with what I am doing, be involved in what I am doing – which obviously requires me to be here in my physical body.

Further, passion is something that I can live when I am walking a particular point in my life, through doing it to the best of my ability, to want the best possible result and not accept and allow myself to be satisfied with something done only halfway. When I decide to walk a point – I instead commit and devout myself – push to find the best solutions, the best direction, and create the best possible outcomes – that is living passion physically in my daily life.

How am I able to life DRIVE in my daily life?

Drive is basically the same as self-directed movement – it’s when I make a decision to do something, and then I do it, and I don’t only do it to be done, and finished, so that I can move on to the next point – no – drive implies that I do it full on and that I push myself to walk the point as effectively as is possible. Drive is when I don’t accept and allow myself to be satisfied until I know that I’ve pushed myself with what I am walking, and I have given it my utmost attention. That is drive: The willingness to move forward and push for excellence.

How am I able to live EXCITEMENT in my daily life?

Excitement – is it necessary to feel excited, in order to live excitement? No – I don’t see that it is necessary – instead excitement is something that I can live and express through my willingness to commit myself to life, to the moment which I am participating in, the willingness to be here fully and exceed-my-self – basically push myself to be completely involved in this physical moment HERE – and not accept and allow myself to go off in my mind where I think about future playouts, things that might happen, things that might not happen, and so on.

So, this is how I see that I can change these words, and bring them into my daily routine, make them part of my life, which means that I don’t have to become a lawyer, or look like Harvey Spector (main character in the suits) in order to live a fulfilling life – because instead – I create myself as fulfillment – I create WHO I AM and thus within that I define my experience within what I do.

Leave a Reply

