Day 271: Children and Social Anxiety

Today I met a child at work. Sometimes I find myself reacting in fear/anxiety when I am faced with a child, and this was one of those times. The core fear within all of this is that the child will ‘see through’ my façade and then say something that will penetrate deeply into my very being, and upset me; basically thus, a fear of being exposed as having some form of weakness, and being bullied/attacked because of this weakness.

This fear is similar to the fear I opened up in yesterday’s blog about social anxiety and misunderstandings. The similarity lies in how both these fears comes from an interest of wanting to be liked, and a general fear of people – and what people will think about me. What I am able to see at the moment is that this fear is very limiting, and that, there is absolutely not reason for it to exist within me. Why should I be afraid of being exposed as having an emotional reaction? Why would it be a weakness to have an emotional reaction? Why should I be afraid of being teased/attacked/bullied because I have an experience come up within me in a moment? It simply makes – NO SENSE.

The question can be asked, why is it that I care so much about others and how they see me? The only answer I have to this question is because I do not value myself – somehow I have created a belief within me that I do not matter unless others say I matter – and that my self-definitions is something that must/should be controlled by others. This is not true, because why should I have less worth and value than anyone else in my world? Why is it so that I should be singled out as being of a lesser grade and sort than my peers? It is all mind illusions – fiction – created because I believe that the emotions coming up in my body are real and indicative of WHO I AM in-fact – while – it is only what I have accepted and allowed to be me – I can change – I can decide how I want to live and who I want to be.

Self-forgiveness

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be fearful of being exposed by children as having some form of reaction, or experience, and being taunted, or judged by another as being weak – and thus I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to exist in a state of fear of showing anything that might resemble a weakness to others – in fear that they are going to expose it and use it to bully me

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not see, realize and understand that this is what I have done in my youth, utilized the weaknesses I saw in others to bully them and gain an advantage – and hence I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not take a breath, bring myself back here, and see, realize and understand that I will not accept and allow myself to do that again – because I see, realize and understand that it is not acceptable

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to want to hide around others because I fear being exposed as being useless and worthless – and thus I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to hold in experiences of emotions – and to suppress them and hold them back – and try to control them – in fear of anyone seeing them – instead of me embracing them and accepting and allowing myself to forgive them unconditionally

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not see, realize and understand that the solution is not to suppress – the solution is to forgive – the solution is to let go and to accept and allow myself to flow – and within this I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not take a breath as an emotion comes up within me – not try to fight it – but instead embrace it – and then direct it – and I see, realize and understand that what I resist will persist – and thus I cannot reach any effective conclusion within myself through and as fear/resistance/anxiety/worry

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to hold it against myself that I react in fear when interacting with children, or other people in my life, such as colleagues, and I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not see, realize and understand that it does not make any sense that I should exist within such a state of resentment and judgment towards myself – because it doesn’t help in anyway – what would help would be me taking a breath – and me accepting and allowing myself to get to know the experience – to recognize that the experience exists within me and that I now have to deal with the experience

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to fear myself – to fear being intimate with myself – to fear seeing into myself – to fear seeing what I experience and getting to know it – and hence I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be short with myself – and to not fully investigate and go deeply into myself when and as I am facing a new point within myself – and I see, realize and understand that in order to be able to transcend what is going on within me – I do require to get to know it and I do require to recognize it – and I do require to understand it – so hence – I commit myself to stop judging my experiences, and myself for having them, and I commit myself to stop suppressing them, and instead get to know my experiences

Self-commitment statements

When and as I see that I am going into a fear, or some other undefined experience, and I go into a resistance/fear/anxiety and hide/suppress myself/the experience – I stop myself, I take a breath and I bring myself back here – and I see, realize and understand that in order to transcend this experience, I must understand it, I must recognize it, I must see it for what it is, and I must allow myself go into it – and thus I commit myself to embrace my experiences – to get to know them – and from that vantage point – move myself to transcend them – and be/remain unconditional in this decision to transcend my experiences

I commit myself to remain/stand/walk into the depths of myself without judgment – and to understand how I exist – and not judge – resist – suppress parts of myself because I believe that they indicate weaknesses – that then apparently are bad

I commit myself to when I am around children, or others for that matter, to practice being open, genuine and intimate with others, to practice standing and showing myself, and who I am here, to slightly move my chest forward, and my shoulders back, to stand with a straight back, to recognize what comes up within me, to investigate it, and become comfortable with being uncomfortable, and to not anymore try to hide myself from others in the fear that others are going to judge me

I commit myself to be open with what is going on within myself and stand fearless, with courage, to be intimate with myself – to get to know myself – and to as such – not anymore fear judgment from myself or others – because I stand with and as myself and do not anymore accept and allow myself to fear sharing/experiencing/seeing who and what I am

Leave a Reply

