Day 298: Cooperation, The Antidote To Fame Issues

For some time now I have been facing two conflicts in me. One of these has been in relation to purpose, were I have experienced that the way I approach purpose is forced, and instead of it coming naturally, it has been a constant point conflict. An example of how this conflict would play out was through me doubting what purpose I should pick for myself, what direction that I should place my focus unto, etc. The other point of conflict has been in relation to career, and work, where I have been conflicted about what direction to go into.

So, through communicating about these points with a fellow destonian, I was able to see that these conflicts stemmed from believes, as well as a desire – more specifically – the desire to become famous. I was assisted to find a word that would support me to step out of this programming and hence the word cooperation opened up. This made sense to me, because in cooperation, there is no one individual that is winning or being more than any other. When cooperating it is instead a common goal, and a common direction that takes precedence, and what is important is how well the cooperation is working, not whether one individual is doing more, or being better than any other.

Hence, in this blog I will redefine and establish the word cooperation within me – how I can live and apply this word in my life and utilize it to support me through the desire for fame.

My current understanding of and how I have lived cooperation

The way I have lived cooperation up to this point in my life has been primarily in relation to work. At work, I have enjoyed cooperation, and finding ways to work together as a team with my colleagues – and fascinatingly enough – at work I am not that worried about me not becoming recognized, or seen because of my efforts. Instead I have put in my work load, because I want to do my part for the team.

At home however, I have been less effective when it comes to cooperation. Often, I have tried to get out of undesired responsibilities and commitments that I have been asked to assist with, and I currently view household work, not as a cooperation, but more as something that I have to get done as a individual effort.

I do however enjoy cooperation when I give myself to it and allow myself to unconditionally assist and support another in their efforts. Then I see the work done as a cooperation – something done together to achieve a commonly desired result.

Dictionary definition of cooperation

  • The action or process of working together to the same end.
    • Assistance, especially by complying readily with requests.
    • Economics; the formation and operation of cooperatives.

Sounding of the word

Co-operation
Co-operate
Co-up-the-rate
Common-operation
Co-up-rate
Co-up-right

The direct translation from swedish is ‘to-work-together’.

Etymology

late 15c., from Middle French coopération, or directly from Late Latin cooperationem (nominative cooperatio) “a working together,” noun of action from past participle stem of cooperari “to work together” from com- “with” + operari “to work”

Being creative; looking at how this word can be lived

In sounding the word, the sounds CO and OPERATION comes through – hence the sounds are clear – cooperation means working together. In swedish the direct translation of cooperation is ‘working together’ – and thus there is really no conundrums with this word. The meaning is clear.

A different thing to look at would be how to live this word. In looking at my own life, I see that I can implement cooperation into how I look at for example household responsibilities, and living together with others, and also when it comes to bringing through a change in this world. Because, when I look at changing this world, usually I see this as being only my responsibility, and a feat that will be accomplished by primarily my efforts – however in looking at world change through cooperation – it is clear that I will only but play a part. There is none more or less important, as we will all stand a particular point in the process of change – it will as such be a collaborate effort – a cooperation.

Thus, to embrace and live cooperation more in my life, I can start by looking at responsibilities, commitments, and other processes of life, from a holistic vantage point – seeing all the various lives involved in a process of creation, who benefits, what outflows there are, and understanding that it is a collaborative effort.

Another aspect of this is when looking at structures of hierarchy. In the system, the top chief, the commander, is seen as being of utmost importance. Though, for the structure (the group, or army in this case) to function and be the best that it can be, all parts of the organization must be effective and work towards result that the group as a whole wants to achieve. It is as such fuzzy logic to view only the top of the organization as important, because in order for the group to move – all the small parts and their individual efforts are equally important.

Redefining the word

Working together to achieve a commonly envisioned goal

Leave a Reply

