Day 308: The Art of Becoming Inspired

Do you feel inspired? Do you sometimes look at people in your world, amazed at how they can express themselves, and from that start practicing that expression yourself? Do you get inspired by the words of others? So inspired that you decide to go and write a blog about the subject, just so you can expand and develop the concept and perspectives even further?

I would say that most people do not allow themselves to be sufficiently inspired by the life that is around them every day. What I have noticed is that we tend to make our daily living a routine, and the people in our environment but roles that play a part in the show called ‘our life’. We consider our weekdays and the job we have to do boring, a chore, something we have to do so we can do what we enjoy, so how can we then be inspired? What is there to inspire us? And why should we become inspired by having to wake up to face another day and do the same thing as the day before?

Does this reasoning sound familiar? I myself have had, and to some extent still do have this way of looking at parts of my life. For example, my job and the colleagues interact with on a daily basis, this environment I defined as being my ‘work’ – and apparently – when I am at office – I work – and that is the only thing I can do. And I have thought that, because work is something I do for my survival, I cannot possibly make anything more out of it than that; I just have to suffer through the time and get it done. Though I have realized that this is a very, very limiting way of considering work – and for that matter – it is very, very limiting to create any form of rigid idea and concept in relation to a particular environment, role or position that we interact within on a regular basis.

Hence, what I have done to create inspiration in my life, is to push myself to be inspired. The sound of the word inspired is IN-SPY-READ – and in context of being inspired by people – this is basically SPYING on others and READING them to see their skills, abilities and expressions and then – make them my own. What I have realized is that becoming inspired is not something that just happens by itself. As a matter of fact I have had to sit down with myself to take a look at the people in my world, for example my colleagues, to see what particular expressions/words they are living. Only when I did this did it become apparent to me that there were things I had missed in my colleagues, I had not seen their individual expressions and strength’s – because I had existed in my idea of work as only being WORK. However, work can be so much more, it can be an environment of inspiration, through me allowing and pushing myself to be inspired by others. And this goes to prove one thing. It is not about where you are, what you are, when you are – it is about WHO YOU ARE.

Hence, what I want to share with this blog is that there is always room for expansion, regardless of environment. Whether we are working, whether we are with our family, whether we are hanging out with friends, the moment we interact with people, there is a opportunity to become inspired – to see another and learn. We do not have to limit learning to school, or expansion and inspiration as a thing we can only pursue in our leisure time. We are the creators, we define the playing field, we decide what our job is to be, what the relationship with our colleagues means, and we decide to get inspired.

As such, do not wait for inspiration, because it arises far to seldom. If we want to live a inspirational life, we must push ourselves to be inspired – notice the moments when we are touched, when we see the potential for expansion and creation – and ACT on those moments – put words to it – write a blog or do a vlog. That is how we bring INSPIRATION into our lives as a decision.

 

Leave a Reply

