Day 341: Hierarchies and Money

Deeply embedded in the human conscious we find some strange ideas about life. One of these is the belief that earning a lot of money equals that we are valuable and important as a person. Money, and having a job, throughout the ages this has been the determining factor as to where in society we will be positioned/valued. If we are poor and have a job of no significance or importance, we will be considered as less valuable, and if the opposite is true, we will be an example for humanity to follow.

This brainwashing that we accepted and allowed has some pretty serious consequences. First off, we have a far to lenient approach to with regards to respect for property, and the right for each one of us to pursue our happiness. The fact is that we have a many that are too rich, and that horde, causing widespread poverty, because their money had to come from somewhere. And we cannot blame these rich, apparently successful people, because we have created them, and secretly, we all hope for the same thing, to hit the jackpot and that we will make some serious money. That is why we continue placing our respect in money, instead of respecting ourselves, and determining our value on the basis of how we live.

The interesting thing is that we have created a completely dysfunctional society, mostly because we are too busy creating our own lives, protecting and building our lives and utilizing money to do that, while not caring sufficiently about each-other – and instead of coming together to build a flowing society where all are cared for, we create enormous structures of control. Though the solution is not control, the solution is not more work, more education, the solution is that we as humanity come together, and look beyond our own personal interests – and see what we are able to create that is best for all.

This pattern of only looking at ourselves, it recurs again and again. A while ago I read an interesting article about coral bleaching. In the article it was discussed how massive coral bleaching had now reached the great barrier reef, and for those that do not know, coral bleaching is bad stuff for corals. What was interesting to note was that the Australian authorities had been aware of coral bleaching since the eighties, though because it had not reached the great barrier reef, no one had really taken note of the danger. Instead the Australian authorities had seen coral bleaching as someone else’s problem, simply because it was not there at the moment. And then, a couple of years later it happened, and now it was too late. And during all this time, the solution had been known, to decrease emissions of fossil fuels on a global level.

The insight here is that in a world that is connected in a multitude of ways, there is no such thing as someone else’s problem. When we have issues with the usage of fossil fuels creating inconsistent weather patterns, then we cannot think that only because those weather patterns are not yet threatening the piece of land we live on, that it is okay to continue a practice that is clearly creating consequences. Because any consequence in this world will directly or indirectly impact us. And this is one of the great things about globalization; we are now able to see with a lot more clarity how our actions ripple throughout the world – and how in a global economy – it is not possible to protect one’s own country from global instability.

Another striking example of we how we tend to only care for and consider ourselves is the refugee situation. Particularly in Sweden this is an interesting topic to explore. Because it is public knowledge that number one reason for people becoming displaced is war. And interestingly enough, Sweden has a big and prosperous arms industry, and it is ranked the third largest arms exporter per capita after Israel and Russia. In Sweden we have a lot of refugees and it has become a big problem. Thus we are now starting to see the consequences of our arms industry, as the victims of war is trying to create a safe life for themselves – and this consequence is now not only out there in some foreign country – no – it is right here at our porch.

Back to the issue of people being rich and poor. What I want to point out here is that when we accept and allow this extreme separation in society, between those that have made it, and those that have not, we are creating consequences, not only for those that are poor, but also for those that are rich. Poverty is a breeding ground for crime, diseases, lack of education, drug abuse, etc. If we want to have a life and society that is efficient and works for everyone, without unnecessary consequences, the acceptance of the rich and poor must be erased, and replaced with a motivation to care for all equally. It is not possible to control consequences, they will slip through the cracks, as is the case with the refugees. Consequences must be prevented at their roots, the original issue must be directed, else we will end up going in circles.

And why do we still hold unto this archaic and dysfunctional model of society? Why have we not changed? Because we do, secretly or overtly, want to hold unto to our current societal set-up, where we have a chance of becoming successful, earning a lot of money, and apparently becoming someone that is important. We still want to win and be rewarded for it. However, it is possible to compete and become successful even though such expressions and processes are not linked to property, money, and wealth. Optimally, competition and success should be used as bait, and motivation, for us to become better as people – so that we are able to realize our full potential in this life and share that with others.

The solution I see is the follow: We stop seeing money as the determining factor for value and worth, and instead make sure that money is a tool, something we utilize to practically create our lives, but where it is has no deeper importance or meaning – it is just money. And also to stop our fears when it comes to money, to as such make sure that we stop accepting and allowing ourselves to horde money, saving it ‘for a rainy day’ or to have ‘more money’. We have to earth our relationship with money and make it PRACTICAL.

Self-forgiveness

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to value money more than people – and believe that it is money that makes the man

I forgive myself that i have accepted and allowed myself to justify and hold unto the idea that a rich person is better than a poor person – and strive to achieve wealth so that I can feel better than others – not seeing, realizing and understanding that money is simply a practical point – something that we require to survive – however not something that defines our character

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to want to hold unto a society where we are allowed to pursue our happiness regardless of the consequences it creates in the lives of others – and thus I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not see, realize and understand, how I am in-fact, creating unconsciously, a system that is not best for all, a system of hierarchies, because I want to feel like a winner, and for winner to exist we must also have losers

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to believe that I can become better buy having more money

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to believe that I am winning buy having more money

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to believe that I am better than others when I have more money than them – or a better education

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to feel more important than others because I have a education that could potentially allow me to earn a lot of money – and thus I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to define myself according to this belief that money makes the man – and that it is through getting more money that I can prove myself in this world system – and show that I am of equal value in comparison with others

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to compare myself with others when it comes to money and earning potential – and feel inferior to those that earn more than me

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to compare myself with others when it comes to money and earning potential – and feel superior to those that earn less than me

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to participate in a system of valuing people and things according to their monetary value – instead of seeing all that is here as equals – all made of the same matter and coming from the same source

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to participate in a inner system of evaluation where money is the most important factor

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to desire and want to have a system of competition where the participants is evaluated according to money – so that I have chance of winning

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not see, realize and understand how I am creating long-term consequences by accepting and allowing myself to be addicted to competition

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not see, realize and understand how my inner relationship with money, is connected to what is happening in the world system – and is connected to how points are currently functioning and operating on a bigger scale – where there is a huge competition in relation to money – and no common sense – where it is seen as justified and okay for one person to own as much money as an entire country – and where poverty, malnutrition, and all other consequences of not having money is then apparently okay

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to create an inner money system where it is seen as justified and acceptable to have a system of competition

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to justify competition within me as good – because apparently it brings out the best in people – and within this I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not see, realize and understand how it in-fact does not bring out the best in people – but rather brings out the most shit in people – where we will do anything and everything to survive and win – and those any integrity and self-respect will go out the window

Self-commitment statements

When and as I become possessed with positive, or negative feelings in relation to money, where I compare myself to others, and see myself as either superior, or inferior, depending on whether I have more or less money than them, I stop myself, I take a breath and I bring myself back here, and I see, realize and understand how this way of viewing and defining myself limits me, and that it creates consequences on a global level, because I am part in, and participating in a system of competition, where one of the consequences is poverty, thus I commit myself to stop – and to value me and others according to what we do to bring through a world that is best for all – according to our purpose and reason for existing in this world – as to what we give to this world as a whole

I commit myself to develop value as myself through giving to this world – living a life of purpose where I am giving of myself to create a better reality and world for everyone – and where I am thus practically living the word value – and not only relating value to an attempt to acquire and earn more money to feel better than others


Learn more about this way of living:

Leave a Reply

