Day 398: Purpose Has Left The Building

What is my purpose? Am I on the right track, or… have I missed my purpose? Have I failed to do what I should in my life? Is it too late for me? This feels so right, is this my purpose? Where is my purpose? Who is my purpose? What should I do to understand and learn about my purpose?

Recognize yourself in these? I do – these questions above are what have been circulating over and over again each time I have tried to open up and develop the point of purpose to a grounded and practical living application. Due to the extensive usage of purpose in our world, where this word has been given, almost, magical attributes, and where we are from a young age trained to look out our lives in terms of finding ‘our way’ – ‘our career’ – ‘what we are going to do when become old’ – it has been very difficult for me to use the word purpose effectively. It became such a big thing for me – so important – so grandiose – I just had to select ‘the right’ purpose – and obviously that felt extremely difficult because that purpose would apparently ‘define the rest of my life’.

Hence – PURPOSE has played its part to describe living in meaningful and fulfilling life through daily practical application – and another word has entered into my life – MATTER.

It was through listening to the Eqafe interview Purpose Has Left The Building that I could see and understand that purpose was not the word I needed to bring out the best in myself – and hence I suggest for anyone interested in reexamining their relationship to meaningful living to take a listen this interview. Because in looking for purpose – we miss the very point of LIVING with purpose – which should be about living in a way where ALL the small moments of LIFE are given attention and recognition – where our life MATTERS – and each moment MATTER – and is used/lived in a way that is meaningful.

Is it not, that all we are looking for in our lives when we try to establish our purpose, is fulfillment and meaning? We want there to be something MORE but only ourselves, and our own small petty problems/desires/wants/wishes/hopes – we want LIFE to MEAN something. Though, why do we first need a purpose to give LIFE and ourselves MEANING – when we can simply make the decision HERE – to MATTER? It does not make sense – and hence I will stop looking for my purpose and instead – through living the word MATTER – make my life purposeful.


Learn more about this way of living

Leave a Reply

